Graduation Ceremony

Helping Exporters in Houston and Southeast Texas

Learn from our mentors, educational seminars, networking events and more!


About the 
Houston District Export Council

Our Mission 


The Houston District Export Council (HDEC) serves current and future exporters in 33 counties in Southeast Texas. Founded in 1977, HDEC was one of the earliest DEC's formed in the country. Its members and associates represent an extensive array of highly experienced manufacturers, service companies, export facilitators, educators, professional advisors and government agencies who, by working together with the U.S. Commercial Service Houston, seek to assist local exporters to effectively and efficiently grow their exports.  


HDEC's members travel extensively to all parts of the globe; while many have lived and worked overseas, they bring extensive knowledge of doing business beyond U.S. borders.


HDEC's agenda is driven by its committees which reflect the priorities established in annual strategic planning meetings and, as they arise, upon "hot topics" which are of importantance to our exporting community.   Leadership is provided by the member elected Executive Committee as well as the Director of the U.S. Commercial Service Houston who serves as who serves as Executive Secretary. HDEC's standing committees are Education, Legislative, Outreach, Mentoring and Membership.  HDEC also works closely with DEC's in North Texas, Central Texas (Camino Real) and West Texas on projects to build and strengthen exporting infrastructure throughout the state of Texas.

The HDEC shall help foster U.S. economic growth and create American jobs by stimulating and facilitating the export of goods and services from companies located in Southeast Texas, by:

  • facilitating the development of an effective export assistance network,

  • supporting the expansion of export opportunities for local U.S. companies,

  • serving as a communication link between the business community and the U.S. Commercial Service Houston, and

  • assisting in coordinating the activities of trade assistance partners to leverage available resources.


HDEC Members are individually appointed  by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce and act similar to a board of directors as they collectively assist and mentor the local exporting community.


Associates of the HDEC do not need such approval but attend HDEC events and support the HDEC through their volunteer efforts as well. Many HDEC appointed members, began their work as HDEC Associates. 


Want to learn more about DEC Membership?  Please see our contact form below.  


The Houston DEC Executive Committee includes the following positions:


Interim Chair:  James McDevitt

C-Automation Inc., President Tel: 214.908.1845

Chair Emeritus:  Jason Brummerhop

Amegy Bank , Senior Vice President Tel: 713.232.1892


First Vice Chair:   James McDevitt

C-Automation Inc., President Tel: 214.908.1845


Second Vice Chair: Jagdip Ahluwalia

Indo American Chamber of Commerce of Greater Houston, Executive Director Tel: 713.624.7131


Secretary: Emma Ford
Schlumberger, Trade Compliance & Customs Area Manager, Americas Tel: 281.285.8041


Treasurer:   David Morse

dbm Consulting & Associates, LLC, President and Lead  Tel: 973.202.0275


National DEC Steering Committee: Miguel Carranza

One Source Risk Management and Funding, Inc., Sales VP Tel: 281.566.3309


Executive Secretary (Non-voting member of Executive Committee)

Jason Wilson 

U.S. Commercial Service Houston, Director

U.S. Department of Commerce| International Trade Administration  Tel:  936-230-9006

Other Members (Not on Executive Committee)

Johnny Aldridge

Kandle Oilfield Products, Business Development Manager Tel: 713.417.1713

Tracey Anthony

Crane Worldwide Logistics, VP & Chief Compliance Officer Tel: 281.233.9511

David Beard

Derrick Corporation, International Area Manager Tel: 832.540.9768

Andres Borasino

Ellicott Dredges, LLC, International Area Manager Tel:  410.818.8810

Debbie Capko

Pegasus Inc., Managing Director Tel:  281.590.7600

Theresa Garcia

Roanoke Trade Services, Inc., Vice President, Marketing & Sales Support Tel: 713.533.2115

Paulo Gasca

Blades International, Inc., Assistant Vice President Tel: 713.977.7400

Emilio Gilberto

BBVA USA, Senior Vice President - Global Trade Finance Tel:  281.217.2362

Pam Holdrup
Proven Logistics Solutions LLC, Principal Tel: 832.234.4101 

Max Koss, CPA

BDO USA LLP, Managing Director Tel:  713.407.3753

Jordan Linger

TricorBraun, Consultant Tel: 281.794.7659

Karl Maier

Abunden, Managing Director Tel: 713.927.6182

Sinem Mehterian

Amegy Bank  -  International Banking, Senior Vice President Tel: 713.232.2484

Ernesto Migoya

EEM Logistics Consulting, LLC., Global Logistics Consultant Tel: 713.598.5506

Bob Miltenberger

NearshoreNetworks Inc., CEO/President Tel:  713.244.6292

Jarred Montgomery

UPS, International Account Executive Tel: 281.224.7997

Eric Nilsson
Mascoat, Logistics Manager & Chief Compliance Officer Tel: 713.465.0304


Lisa Phillip

Hybas International, President and CEO Tel: 281.855.6029


Andrew Pidgirsky
LewisBrisbois, Partner Tel: 713.659.6767

Jason Pizcazotowski

Neutrex, Inc., President Tel: 832.236.1194

James Prappas

Kane Russell Coleman Logan PC, Senior Director Tel: 713.425.7431


Hebab Quazi
AngelNet Energy, Water & Environmental Systems Corp, Director/CEO Tel: 832.269.2043

Richard Sindelar
University of St Thomas, Assistant Professor of Int'l Studies Tel: 713.525.3819

Lance Stricklin

Schlumberger, Managing Counsel - Trade Compliance Tel: 314.707.5519

Darren Tabron

Regions Bank, Commercial SBA Banker Tel: 832.730.5513


Deanna Teel
Houston Community College, International Business Program Coordinator Tel: 713.718.5873


Diana Urelius

Mitsubishi Logisnext Americas (Houston) Inc., Senior Manager Trade Compliance Tel: 713.252.5879

David Velez

Regions Bank, VP SBA Lender Tel: 8325495895

Marlaina Wheeler

Visual Comfort & Co., Trade Compliance Manager Tel: 832.201.4968

Raya Guruswamy

EnergyFundz, CEO Tel: 713.715.8986


Honorary Members (Not on Executive Committee)


Gabriela P. Aslaksen

Greater Houston Partnership, Director, International Investment & Trade Tel: 713.844.3606

Christopher Olson

City of Houston, Director Tel: 832.393.0985